You’ve probably seen the now-infamous Nike commercial a number of times in the past month or so, and likely not just on TV. In fact, the first time I saw it was when I StumbledUpon it. And for this very reason, the power of viral marketing proves that you can play second fiddle and still come out on top with a little guerrilla tactic. Just in case you’ve been hiding under a rock, here is the commercial that catapulted Nike over the Official FIFA World Cup Sponsor, Adidas:

A recent Nielson Co. study determined that Nike amassed over 30% share of all buzz, posts, and articles on message boards and social networking sites related to the World Cup tournament from May 7 to June 6, 2010 – which was more than Adidas and Coca-Cola combined (14.4% & 11.8%, respectively). Nike-1, FIFA Sponsors-0.

I had a chance to check out Adidas’ supposedly “response” to Nike, but I’ll let you be the judge:

Perhaps I’m biased, but Star Wars has been washed, rinsed, and regurgitated many times in a variety of promotional materials, and I feel that this particular advert doesn’t quite grab me in the way that the Nike commercial did. Was it not for this post, it’s unlikely I would have mentioned this video. Their message just wasn’t compelling enough. And it was too little too late.

